Quick Update: Taiwan + My birthday!

Hi everyone, just a quick post to say hi before Michael gives up on us ever going to the mountains today. This one won’t be meticulously analyzed and obsessively edited like most (well, all) of my writing has been since grad school. We’re living in Taiwan now, and we’ve been teaching for two weeks. This was our first week teaching classes on our own. I’m psyched because this year my birthday lasts 1 1/2 days! 24 hours in my time zone and another 12 in my home time zone.

Now, if you know me well, you know that I get super excited about birthdays, both mine and other people’s. I’ve never been able to, but I have always wanted to throw people huge, elaborate birthday parties and buy them ridiculously expensive presents. At home I celebrate my birthday all month. Seriously: I have a party or family dinner pretty much every weekend.

Michael and I celebrated Rose’s Birthday Eve by playing rummy and drinking whiskey in our room. Exciting times.

Taiwan is really great so far. I promise I’ll tell you more about it soon. –Rose

//

Leave a Reply

